I did not fall off of a cliff.

So guess what? Life happened. This is why I always stop painting. It’s because of life. 🙂 I don’t even know where to begin or where I left off. So I’ll just spare ya’ the details since this is supposed to be about painting, right?

Just so you know, I didn’t COMPLETELY stop painting. I had to do a secret painting for my friend Heather (who has an awesome blog for anyone interested in nutrition, yoga and healthy eating). She wanted a dog portrait of her two pups, Radley and Einstein, as a birthday present for her hubby Chris. As much as I love these two dogs, I had a very hard time working on this one. With their jet black coats and a terrible print job from my printer, I just couldn’t see the variations in lighting. Einstein, the dog on the right, was the hardest. He was ending up with a pig nose and a white mustache and soooo not looking like his cute self. Radley, the dog on the left, was somehow developing a scarf. Very weird.

I would find myself leaning the painting up in different rooms and just stare at it…say angry things at it… and then hope the art fairy would fix it. Sadly it was left up to me. In the end, this is what I delivered to my friend. It’s not perfect, but I hope it made Chris smile on his birthday. Happy Birthday, Chris!

Radley and Einstein

Radley and Einstein

7 Responses to “I did not fall off of a cliff.”

  1. I think Radley’s scarf makes him look very dapper and sophisticated!

  2. Thanks, Al. Radley is veeeery sophisticated indeed.

  3. Oh Cherie,
    It was perfect. Chris loved it. 🙂

  4. P.S. Thanks for the shout-out!

  5. Cherie, your painting brought a huge smile to my face. 🙂

    It looks great… and will be above our fireplace for years to come.

    Thanks for painting such a great gift!!

  6. The scarf comment made me laugh outloud!! Glad to see you blogging again. Uhm….I guess it’s glad to read you blogging again. =) You are awesome!!!

  7. Cherie,

    I just started reading your blog and I think it’s so much fun!

    I’m a painter as well. (Well, a student really. I’ll be going to RISD in the fall for graphic design, but I’m workin on building my trad. medium skills before I go). That painting rocks my socks..

    With Love,

    Emily

Leave a Reply

