1/16/09 – The dog ate my homework

My golden retriever turned one at Thanksgiving. I’ve been experimenting with how much I can trust her in the house while I’m gone. Yesterday, she failed…miserably! This is what I came home to last night:

What I see as I walk in my door.

What I see as I walk in my door.

Another sad view.

Another sad view.

What you are looking at is my college drawing portfolio from my life drawing classes. I couldn’t believe it! The dog ate my homework! Granted, it’s from 10 years ago, but it was my homework! Word to the wise: do NOT store your art portfolio under your couch if you have a dog. I understand my drawings were nothing amazing, but they represented a part of me from my college days. That’s what makes me so sad. Luckily, one of my favorite drawings was mostly unripped. I called my framing friend to see if he could salvage it for me and frame it. We shall see.

Here are a few remaining pieces:

I don't remember who he was, but he was spared.

I don't remember who he was, but he was spared.

The foot on this drawing used to be one of my favorite parts. It's now in the trash or in my dog's stomach.

The foot on this drawing used to be one of my favorite parts. It's now in the trash or in my dog's stomach.

So there you go. Maybe my dog is trying to tell me something. Is it, “Cherie, your drawings suck.”? Maybe she just wants me to know that paper tastes really good. I don’t know. But today is a new day. The ironic thing is that I signed up for a life drawing class that starts in February because I loved it so much when I was in college. Sigh. I guess this just means I need to start a new chapter in Life Drawing.

When is Happy Hour?

6 Responses to “1/16/09 – The dog ate my homework”

  1. A perfect case for crating your dog while out. This is just one of the many good reasons for leaving your dog in “bed” when you aren’t around. That said, I am sorry she destroyed something that was irreplaceable. I know I would be feeling awfully broken if one of my kids wrecked my art portfolio from university.

  2. Sasha Wilt Says:

    Oh the destruction we endure for the sake of our pets! I’m sure she is sorry she destroyed her mommy’s drawings. Speaking of which, your drawings and paintings are AMAZING. I can’t draw much of anything except stick figures and smiley faces, so I especially admire those who are artistically talented. I need an original Pilliod piece hanging in my apartment!

    • Thanks, Sasha! That’s sweet. And there’s nothing wrong with stick figures and smiley faces. Hey, I hear you fell victim to the “Baby Shower Stomach Bug of 2009”, too!

  3. Yes, I did! It was awful! I’m sorry you went through it too. =( I didn’t make any of the food there so it wasn’t my fault! 😉

  4. Oh my gosh – cannot believe it. She pulled a Radly. So sorry Cherie. Looks like it’s back to the crate for Miss Briley!

  5. Hi Cherie,
    I wanted to thank you for visiting my blog and stop by and say hi….I saw these photos and I have no words, just a loud gasp! I am envious that you are taking a Life Drawing class. It was one of my favorites too! I’ve been visiting Posemaniacs where they have 30 sec poses online. Keep up the beautiful work and enjoy your class and leave your dog at home? 🙂

Leave a Reply

